BETHLEHEM CITY COUNCIL REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING NEW COUNCIL Monday, January 4, 2016 – 7:00 PM 10 East Church Street - Town Hall Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

1. ROLL CALL OF HOLD-OVER MEMBERS OF COUNCIL

The Clerk called the Roll of the Hold-Over Members of Council. Present as Hold-Over Members were: Bryan G. Callahan, Eric R. Evans, and Adam R. Waldron, 3.

2. PRESENTATION OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION

The Clerk affirmed that the Certificates of Election for the Controller, Treasurer, and Members of Council had been presented.

3. SWEARING-IN CEREMONIES

A. Controller – George Yasso

Stephen G. Baratta, Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, Northampton County, administered the Oath of Office to George Yasso, duly elected Controller, for the two year term ending January 2018.

B. Treasurer – Kaija Farber

Stephen G. Baratta, President Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, Northampton County, administered the Oath of Office to Kaija Farber, duly elected Treasurer, for the four year term ending January 2020.

C. Members of Council - Michael G. Colón, Shawn M. Martell, Olga Negrón-Dipiní and J. William Reynolds

Stephen G. Baratta, President Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, Northampton County, administered the individual Oaths of Office to Michael G. Colón, Shawn M. Martell, and J. William Reynolds, duly elected Members of Council, for their four year terms ending January 2020.

Pedro A. Cortés, Secretary of State, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, administered the Oath of Office to Olga Negrón-Dipiní, for her two year term ending January 2018.

Secretary of State Cortés remarked that he is not as well known as President Judge Baratta in the City and County, but he has had the great privilege of serving the residents as Pennsylvania's Secretary of State. He expressed it is a privilege to be in the beautiful City of Bethlehem. Secretary Cortés acknowledged Bethlehem Mayor Donchez, Northampton County President Judge Baratta, State Representative Steve Samuelson, Allentown Mayor Ed Pawlowski, Vice President of City Council in Allentown, Julio Guridy and all the Members of Council, past and future. Secretary Cortés remarked he is honored to administer the Oath of Office to his dear friend Olga Negrón-Dipiní.

4. ROLL CALL OF NEWLY CONSTITUTED COUNCIL.

The Clerk called the Roll of the Newly Constituted Council. Present were: Bryan G. Callahan, Michael G. Colón, Eric R. Evans, Shawn M. Martell, Olga Negrón-Dipiní, J. William Reynolds, and Adam R. Waldron, 7.

5. NOMINATIONS AND ELECTION - PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL.

John J. Spirk Esq., City Council Solicitor, conducted the Nominations and Election for the President of Council, to serve for the years 2016 and 2017, pursuant to the Rules of Council that were revised and adopted December 21, 2011. Attorney Spirk noted in accordance with the Rules of City Council and Roberts Rules of Order the election procedure will be as follows. He will ask for nominations for the Office of President. Each Council Member may nominate no more than

one person, no second is required. Attorney Spirk stated that after each nomination for the Office of President he will ask if there are any additional nominations. When there are no additional nominations, he will declare the nominations closed. Attorney Spirk informed they will then proceed to the election, and he will ask the Clerk to call the roll. Each Council Member will respond by declaring his or her vote by stating the name of the person they are voting for President. A Council Member is allowed to vote for him or herself. Attorney Spirk reported that four votes are required for election and after the President is elected we will repeat the same process for Council Vice-President.

NOMINATIONS - PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL – January 2016 - January 2018

Mr. Callahan nominated Mr. Reynolds.

Ms. Negrón-Dipiní nominated Mr. Evans.

Attorney Spirk asked the Clerk to Call the Roll.

ELECTION - PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL - January 2016 - January 2018

Voting for Mr. Reynolds: Mr. Callahan, Mr. Martell, Mr. Reynolds, Mr. Waldron, 4.

Voting for Mr. Evans: Mr. Colón, Mr. Evans, Ms. Olga Negrón-Dipiní, 3.

The Election of Mr. Reynolds as President of Council for the years January 2016 - January 2018 was adopted by a vote of 4 to 3.

6. NOMINATIONS AND ELECTION - VICE PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL - January 2016 - January 2018

John J. Spirk, Esq., City Council Solicitor conducted the Nominations and Election for the Vice President of Council, to serve for the term January 2016 - January 2018.

NOMINATIONS - VICE PRESIDENT OF COUNCIL - January 2016 - January 2018.

Mr. Reynolds nominated Mr. Waldron.

Ms. Negrón-Dipiní nominated Mr. Evans.

Mr. Evans stated that he declines and will support Mr. Waldron.

Attorney Spirk asked the Clerk to Call the Roll.

Voting for Mr. Waldron: Mr. Callahan, Mr. Colón, Mr. Evans, Mr. Martell, Ms. Negrón-Dipiní, Mr. Reynolds, Mr. Waldron, 7.

The Election of Mr. Waldron as Vice President of Council for the term January 2016 - January 2018 was adopted by a vote of seven in favor.

7. REPORTS

A. President of Council

President Reynolds stated he would like to thank his colleagues for their show of support to re-elect him as Council President. We have been through much over the past few years and Council as a whole has worked with the Administration fairly and disagreed with Mayor Donchez and his Administration when need be and agreed on many matters too. He continued everyone has worked together in the best interest of the City. President Reynolds thanked all the Members of Council and welcomed and congratulated the new Members. He added that we look forward to them joining us as we tackle some big issues. Bethlehem City Council Reorganizational Meeting New Council January 4, 2016

B. Mayor

Mayor Donchez congratulated President Reynolds and Councilman Waldron on their vote of leadership. He also wanted to welcome the new members of City Council and congratulate them. Mayor Donchez stressed that the Administration is certainly willing to work with them for the betterment of the City of Bethlehem.

8. PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

9. BENEDICTION

(The Reverend Cannon) Laura Thomas Howell, Obl.S.B., Trinity Episcopal Church, offered the Benediction.

10. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

ATTEST:

City Clerk